Study Group congratulates UK university partners honoured by the Royal Anniversary Trust

26 November 2021

The universities of Aberdeen, Huddersfield, Leeds, Oxford, Strathclyde, and Imperial College London are amongst 21 institutions honoured by the nation for outstanding educational achievement. The Queen’s Anniversary Prizes are the highest national Honour awarded in UK further and higher education.

Congratulating the winners, Study Group CEO Emma Lancaster said, “We are delighted to see the exceptional work of our university partners honoured at the highest level for the difference it makes to our communities, public health, environment and economy. Study Group - including online experts Insendi - are committed to making a better world through education and it is a privilege to work with partners of this calibre. Our warmest congratulations and thanks to each of them for the impact they have for good.

This year’s Queen’s Anniversary Prizes specifically honoured:

  • The University of Aberdeen for world-leading research and teaching in soil science promoting the control of greenhouse gas emissions and sustainable food production.
  • The University of Huddersfield’s work on advanced metrology for smart and carbon-neutral manufacturing, product verification, digitalised processes and machining.
  • The University of Leeds’ research on climate and extreme weather, aiding vulnerable communities in the global south with new forecasting and warning systems.
  • The University of Strathclyde as a leader in applied advanced manufacturing research in the UK with applications in energy, pharma and transportation, and driving innovation and job creation.
  • Imperial College, London for world-class expertise in data modelling and real-time analysis, supporting a holistic response to COVID-19 in the UK and internationally.
  • The University of Oxford for large-scale multidisciplinary research expertise in antibodies combining to enable rapid design and production of an effective vaccine against COVID-19, saving millions of lives.

The Queen’s Anniversary Prizes are granted by The Queen every two years and recognise outstanding work by UK colleges and universities that “shows quality and innovation and delivers real benefit to the wider world and public through education and training.” Presentation of the award is made by a senior member of the Royal Family at an investiture ceremony at Buckingham Palace.

Further information on the awards is available here.

Blog archive

See all articles

Discover more about Study Group