Study Group Learning and Teaching Award Winners 2021

29 July 2021
Posted by Study Group

Study Group celebrates the incredible achievements of its educators at the Learning and Teaching Awards 2021

Staff, Centres and Colleges from across Study Group’s network of International Study Centres (ISC) in the UK and Europe saw their outstanding achievements recognised at the company’s annual Learning and Teaching Awards.

The awards are designed to acknowledge best-practice in teaching and leadership, support Continuing Professional Development (CPD) and champion the ongoing development and delivery of high-quality education provision at Study Group.

Spanning 12 categories, the Study Group Learning and Teaching Awards celebrated excellent teaching and leadership by highlighting the successes of exceptional teachers and learning centres. The full list of award winners is available below:

Student Progress Award:

Winner: Olly Walker, Progression Support Team Leader (The University of Sussex ISC). Olly won this award because he helped students make significant progress through delivering excellent academic and pastoral support.

Leadership Award:

Winner: Chris Hooper, Head of Centre (Cardiff University ISC). Chris won this award for setting the scene for improving the student experience and for strong leadership, inspiring both staff and students to improve.

Welfare and Support Award:

Winner: Jen Glover, Welfare Officer (The University of Surrey University ISC). Jen won this award for going the extra mile in her role to ensure students feel safe, supported and confident in their ability.

Research and Scholarly Activity Award:

Winner: Sarah Dobbie, English Coordinator (The University of Aberdeen ISC). Sarah won this award because her love of academia is infectious and inspirational to both staff and students, for undertaking scholarly activity, which has had impact on the centre and for her commitment to continuous professional development.

Inspirational Learning and Teaching Award:

Winner: Dr Roberto Sisca, Maths Tutor (The University of Surrey ISC). Dr Roberto won this award because he plans and delivers a student experience that is lively, active and fun and who can pivot easily between mediums of delivery to achieve this.

Operational Excellence in Learning and Teaching Award:

Winner: Debbie Bradley, Professional Services Assistant (Cardiff University ISC). Debbie won this award for demonstrating operational excellence, and the ability to make things happen and deliver effectively.

Progression and Achievement Award:

Winner: Academic Support Team, Liverpool John Moores University ISC. The team won this award for demonstrating that they are an inspiring group of people who have a joined-up approach to improving learning, teaching and assessment. They plan and work together to support student progression and to ensure that students know what they need to do to improve and meet their aspirations.

Innovation of Learning Activities Award:

Winner: STEM Team, The University of Aberdeen ISC. The team won this award for showing commitment to continuous improvement and for embracing new and effective ways of teaching online and face to face.

Early Career Award:

Winner: Jack Laughlin, Student Experience Coordinator (The University of Huddersfield ISC). Jack won this award for making a great first impression over the past year.

Student Choice Award:

Winner: Valeria Angeli, Teacher (Lancaster University ISC).

Winner: Denise Knightley, Teacher (The University of Sussex ISC).

Winner: Andrew Fleming, Teacher (Bellerbys College, Brighton).

This award is voted for by our students and they felt that Valeria, Denise and Andrew have gone above and beyond to provide an exceptional learning experience for them.

Centre of the Year Award:

Winner: Cardiff University ISC. The Cardiff University ISC won this award for excelling in providing an outstanding student experience, for having quality measures in place to maximise student progression and whose overall impact on student experience has been the most significant in the last year.

Outstanding Contribution to Learning and Teaching Award:

Winner: Dr Anna Fenge, ISC Deputy Director, Study Group. Dr Anna won this award for making a lasting impact and significant contributions to improving learning, teaching, assessment and the student experience.

As Emma Lancaster, Study Group CEO comments:

“On behalf of the Study Group senior leadership team, I wanted to take this opportunity to thank everyone who took the time to submit a nomination.

“We have been overwhelmed by the quality of the entries and we are delighted to acknowledge and celebrate the incredible achievements our educators and colleges.

"A huge congratulations to all the nominees and winners for your exceptional contribution to creating a better world through education.”

Dr Mark Cunnington, Chief Operating Officer for the UK and EU at Study Group adds:

“Thank you for everything you do for our students, particularly the way you have supported them through the ongoing challenges faced and continue to face during the pandemic.

“The awards are a testament to the excellence in academic delivery and welfare support that our educators, across our Centres and Colleges, strive to provide for our students every single day.”

Blog archive

See all articles

Discover more about Study Group